Thank you, Noah Brand

by EddyNorthwind

I often get asked about how I can simultaneously identify as a feminist and a masculist. This is how.

Gender is not zero-sum. It’s incredibly rare that I find something offensive to one gender that is not simultaneously offensive to anyone outside of a very narrow view of the other. That’s not to say that certain specific gender issues don’t have elements of zero summiness (it’s a word, AJ :P) — My layperson’s understanding of economics suggests that at any one time, there are only so many jobs to be had, which leads to some unfortunate situations that can’t be resolved by simply saying “make things better for everyone”. All the same, the goal of a society that is fair to all its members is not too pie in the sky to be the goal of a social movement.

I want to live in a world where one’s gender is considered as indicative of who they are as the precise size and shape of their belly button. I want to live in a world where my gender is considered as indicative of who I am as the precise size and shape of my belly button. I’m pretty sure most people in the gendersphere can agree with that sentiment.

(Note: As seems to be a common problem over on GMP, the comments section of the linked post is mostly ignorance & overgeneralization punctuated by occasional bits of intelligent discourse. I wouldn’t read it unless you’re willing to see some ugliness.)

~Eddy

